Kakamega ranked as the best county

Kakamega Tops Best Performing County in a New Survey.

Kakamega County tops the list of best performing county in the country in a new survey by Infotrak Research firm.

In the latest report by Infotrak Kakamega County was ranked first with an approval rate of 57.2% followed by Kwale County with a rating of 54.8% and Makueni coming in at number 3 with a rating of 54.7%.

Other counties that made it to top 5 best performing counties were Kisumu County with an approval rate of 53.4% and closing in at number 5 was Uasin Gishu County with a rating of 53.1%.

On the hand, the worst-performing counties were as follows; Tana River County came last with 39.5% approval rating, followed closely by Wajir (41.3%) ( Isiolo (42.0%) Samburu (42.2%) and Mandera (43.1%).

In the report, Infotrak said to have considered various parameters in their ranking. Among them was, agriculture, health, education, roads and transport as well as county planning.

According to Infotrak, about 37,000 respondents were interviewed for the rankings.

Top Climbers

The report also took into account the most improved counties as per their last ranking in 2015.

The most improved county was Makueni County having moved from position 40 to position 3. It was followed by Turkana County which has moved from position 42 to 16 and closing the list of top climbers was Kisumu County under its first-time governor, Professor Anyang Nyong. It has moved from position 27 to 4.

Others to have done well compared to 2015 rankings were Lamu, Nairobi, and Tharaka Nithi Counties.

Aside from county rankings, the report also ranked the top-performing county governors with 4 first-time governors making it in the top 10 list.

Kwale County Governor Salim Mvurya | Photo Courtesy

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya leads the pack with an 82.3% approval rating. Second, on the list is Kwale County boss Salim Mvurya with a rating of 77.1% and closing on the top 3 list is Makueni’s Kivutha Kibwana with 74.4% approval rating. Others in the list include Governor Anyang Nyong, Alfred Mutua and Prof. John Lonyangapuo of West Pokot.